3/10/2015

March Reading List




Another month, another lineup of books. There's a bit of everything here; memoirs, the weirdest book I've ever read, another from the Hornby archives and of course some YA fiction. All the things I look for in my literary adventures. Here's what I'm reading in March...

Wild by Cheryl Strayed-I really wasn't expecting to like this book as much as I have but I love it. Given I know next to nothing about tramping and the American outdoors I've found it extremely interesting. Cheryl Strayed sets out to hike the Pacific Crest Trail in an attempt to rediscover herself and reflect on the last few years of her life, since her mother's passing. It's a true story which makes it all the more amazing and inspiring. I'm not quite finished this yet as I've found myself dragging it out, but don't be surprised if this is my book of the month.

About A Boy by Nick Hornby-I'm still reading Nick Hornby's book about books that I touched on last month but this is next on my list. If you've seen the movie, you'll know that this story follows Will, a 30-something single, unemployed and too hip for his own good kind of guy. He crosses paths with Marcus, a twelve year old looking after his mother and possessing eccentric music taste. I really enjoyed the movie adapted from this book so I'm looking forward to reading the novel.

A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall-This story, told from multiple perspectives follows the unfolding love story of two young adults who meet in a creative writing class. *insert heart emojis here*. This just sounds so sweet and according to Goodreads, it's perfect for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell. I will keep you posted..

The First Bad Man by Miranda July-Where to begin with this book... My familiarity with Miranda July begun 2/3 years ago when she did a project where you'd receive an email conversation from a famous face, like Lena Dunham into your inbox. I wasn't really sure what to expect but I'd been told this would be unlike anything else I'd read, and it was. This book tells the story of Cheryl, a middle-aged singleton who works for a company that produces self defense videos. She finds herself lumbered with her boss's twenty-something daughter who has gone off the rails. They have a rather bizarre relationship, to say the least. You'll have to read this to find out what else happens but this book was bizarre and at times grotesque. I nearly abandoned this but felt obliged to finish it. It has to be one of the weirdest things I have ever read but that made it all the more of an addicting read.

*Have you read any of these books? If not, what have you been reading lately? I'd love some recommendations. 

No comments:

Post a comment